Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Great Lakes Advisory Board

The Great Lakes Advisory Board (GLAB) is one of EPA's Federal Advisory Committees. It operates in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA).

The GLAB is chartered to provide advice and recommendations to the EPA Administrator, through the Great Lakes National Program Manager, on matters related to implementation of the Great Lakes Restoration Initiative. It will also advise on domestic matters related to implementation of the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement between the U.S. and Canada.

For any questions regarding the GLAB, please contact GLAB Designated Federal Officer Edlynzia Barnes (; 312-886-6249).

Current Members

  • Co-Chair: Stephen Galarneau, Director of the Office of Great Waters – Great Lakes & Mississippi River, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
  • Co-Chair: Kyle Dreyfuss-Wells, Chief Executive Officer, Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District
  • Scudder Mackey, Chief of the Office of Coastal Management, Ohio Department of Natural Resources
  • James Williams Jr., Tribal Chairman, Lac Vieux Desert Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians
  • Jeff Stollenwerk, Director of Government and Environmental Affairs, Duluth Seaway Port Authority
  • John Hull, Founder and Chairman, Hull & Associates Inc. 
  • Lisa Frede, Director of Regulatory Affairs, Chemical Industry Council of Illinois
  • Larry Antosch, Senior Director, Ohio Farm Bureau Federation
  • Kay Nelson, Director of Environmental Affairs, Northwest Indiana Forum
  • J. Val Klump, Dean and Professor of the School of Freshwater Sciences, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
  • Alan Steinman, Director of Annis Water Resources Institute, Grand Valley State University
  • Brian Miller, Retired, Illinois-Indiana Sea Grant and Illinois Water Resources Center
  • Sylvia Orduño, Organizer, Michigan Welfare Rights Organization
  • Frank Ettawageshik, Executive Director of the United Tribes of Michigan
  • Laura Rubin, Director of the Healing Our Waters-Great Lakes Coalition